In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult What is your opinion about this.

In certain parts of US, teenagers are restricted from going outdoors after certain time at nights. The government has imposed curfew in these areas for teenagers and if they are outside during these times, it is mandatory that they should be accompanied by an adult. As per my view, there are pros and cons to such kind of laws. In areas where the crime rates are high, this kind of curfew can be helpful. In these areas if the curfew is not implemented, teenagers might be an easy target for thieves and chain snatchers. They can also be abducted easily if they are on their own. The curious nature of the teenagers might sometimes lead them to dark paths. As they get attracted to bad things easily, they might involve into drugs and violence. This will lead to a troublesome life and they might turn into criminals and gangsters. By the presences of adults by their side, the teens don’t get distracted into unnecessary matters and will be safe by all means. However imposing a curfew cannot be perfect solution in certain cases. Sometimes it might not be possible for the parents to escort their teen kids during the night times. This might be because they work schedules or unexpected health reasons. In these situations, if the teenager needs to go out to get extra material for their assignments or have a combined study with their friends, they might find it difficult as they don’t have an adult to escort them. As per my view, to ensure the safety of the teenagers during the night times, rather than just imposing a curfew, the government should come up with certain safety measures like police patrolling for every 20 minutes and CCTV installations for every few blocks.