In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

Although forcing adolescents to stay indoors after dusk limits their social activities with peers, it also restricts their involvement in risky and illegal behaviors which can lead to social and physical harm. (Explanation) The rate of bad behaviors, such as drinking alcohol, smoking cigarettes, and driving reckless increases three-fold during the night hours, after 10 pm, because of peer pressure at pubs, discos and house-parties. (Example – first-person voice and U. S. ) I saw a newscast that in New York the delinquency rate among minors had been 400% higher after 10 pm, and since imposing a curfew in 2018, this has dropped to less than half, thereby, alleviating pressure on parents and the public. This is one of two reasons that I am in support of implementing a curfew for minors. Furthermore, by keeping teens at home after sunset, parents have more opportunities to have their children engage in productive behavior which can lead to their mental and physical progression for a better adult life. In the three to four hours of the evening, when juveniles are only allowed out with adults, teens can spend time playing sports with their parents or working together on their studies. This leads to mutual respect and strong communication among family members, and in turn, results in smart, confident, and successful young adults. In the same newscast I saw on New York teens, research showed that after 2018, the academic performance of 15- to 17-year-olds has improved by 20%. In conclusion, two strong reasons to have curfews for minors in some places are less deviant activity and more productive growth. I am therefore strongly in favor of such regulation. It is important to look at not only the short-term negatives but also the long-term positives of such legislation for youngsters.