In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

These days, youngsters prefer thrifting rather than buying new clothes. I strongly believe that this is due to the fact that second-hand clothes are cheaper and also it has positive influences on the environment. First of all, preowned clothes are cheap. Many of the young adults of the 21st century are self-dependent and rational. They have lots of responsibility to take care, hence they try to spend less on clothing by shifting to preowned clothes rather than buying new ones. At the same time, designer clothes are very expansive but they can purchase at a very minimal rate in a flea market and these teenagers are able to stay on top of their fashion trends. For instance, famous brand like Guess and Louis Vuitton cost us fortunes, however, their second-hand clothes can be purchase at an affordable price. Moreover, shifting to such trends brings tremendous advantages to our environment. Modern young generation are more nature-minded, thus they practice buying old clothes, which not only reduces but also lead to reuse of the products and prevent tones of them from going into landfills. Thus, it creates ego-friendly environment. For example, a study was done in London college claimed that the number of online thrifting store has tripled, which has reduced large figures of waste from fashion industries. In conclusion, upward trends of pre-loved clothes amongst young people is not only because of its pocket friendly but also its positive impact on nature. Thus more and more people are adopting this practice.