In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

It is said that the family has the best relationship structure than other social institutions in the world. In modern times, there are changes in the structure of the family and its roles. This essay will discuss what changes are happening and what are the pros and cons of these changes. Thanks to technology, education and demands of times, modern family structure has been changed compared in the past. Changes have happened both in size and patterns. In size, for example, it has changed to the nuclear family from the extended family. It also has transferred to monogamy from polygamy structure that was in common everywhere before. Along with the structure changes, the functions of the family are now also considering differently. Of course, now, many modern women family members perform different family roles as before it was only by male counterpart family members. Even there are many advantages and disadvantages to these changes; there is a tendency to believe that, in many cases, it has positively affected society as a whole. A good example of this is the size of the family. Due to the extended structure in the past, most of the family members were deprived of their basic needs and fundamental rights, especially women and children in this case. Indeed, the nuclear structure can easily provide their necessities and rights. In other words, today's women do not agree with polygamy structure of the family that reduces social clashes and conflicts within and outside the family. To be more precise, women are achieving their self-sufficiency with equal rights to men. Like male counterparts, female are now enjoying their equal duties and responsibilities in the family roles. This is providing society economic strengths, standard living conditions, life security and many opportunities as well. Considering the drawbacks of the family structure change (such as a low family bond, disrespect to older members), these transitions are making a difference by providing chances that were absent in the past structure.