in a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Due to rapid urbanisation, transportation is closely related to people’s daily lives. In order to build convenient transportation systems, many think that it is necessary for the government to construct numerous high-speed railways. Fast trains can enhance commuters’ travel efficiency and improve connections between cities. However, others think improving current public transportation is more important since it can serve more local citizens. On the one hand, it is reasonable for the government to put emphasis on building fast trains between cities. Nowadays, people live further away from city centres because of the low cost of accommodation and daily expenses. Therefore, compared to private cars, the fast trains between cities can help dwellers save a large amount of time on the road. In addition, commuters also do not need to worry about traffic jams and car accidents. If they drive on the highway to travel to another city, they need to fully concentrate on their driving speed, wait for traffic lights and prevent traffic accidents. On the other hand, some people argue that constructing high-speed trains does not have short-term advantages. Fast trains are expensive and not beneficial for large scale usage by citizens. Therefore, the government should put more efforts and revenue into the improvement of preexisting public transportation. For instance, the government can add more public transportation routes to suburban areas outside of the cities. It can also manage to build a pleasant and comfortable environment for passengers. As a result, it is a practical way to encourage more people to take public transportation. The fewer number of private cars, the less toxic and harmful emissions will be. In conclusion, I think in the metropolis, the government should invest equally in the fast rail system and public transportation. However, it is also reasonable for the authorities to invest more money into existing public transportation, especially in small cities.