In Order To Solve Traffic Problems Governments Should Tax Private Car Owners Heavily?

Some people argue that o curb the ongoing traffic issues, governments must levy huge tax on private automobile owners and utilise their money to enhance the public transport services. I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this situation in the following paragraphs. The main benefit of taxing private car owners is that it will make car ownership less affordable to them and consequently they will buy fewer cars. Nowadays, it is common for many families to own three or four cars when just one would suffice. When new cars are taxed heavily, members of a family will choose the share the service of their only family car instead of buying a separate car for each member of the family. The obvious advantage of this development is that it will reduce the number of cars on the road and thus ease traffic congestion and improve air quality. As for the government, it can use the money collected from private car owners for improving public transportation. When the quality of private transport increases, more and more people will opt to use it. This, in turn, will further reduce the number of cars on the road and prevent traffic jams to a great extent. On the downside, when fewer people buy cars, it will reduce the profitability of car makers. As a result, they will have to lay off some of their employees. This will increase the unemployment rate and affect the economy. Also, when car companies go out of business, the government will not be able to collect much tax from them. In short, this move might reduce traffic congestion but its overall impact on the economy will be devastating. In addition, this measure will make cars unaffordable to middle and lower income families. In conclusion, increasing tax on private vehicles will certainly reduce traffic congestion to some extent and improve air quality; however, at the same time, it will make cars unaffordable to middle and lower income groups and thus further increase inequality in the society. Also, it will hurt the economy as it will cause many car makers to go out of business.