bad effects of lack of sleep

Some people think that they only need to sleep about 6 hours or less to feel healthy but they do not know that the harmful effects are hidden behind not getting enough sleep. But how many hours is enough sleep? Read the next lines to know more. The National Sleep Foundation recommends that people who sleep less than 6 hours or more than 7 hours have a higher risk of dying from heart disease. Sleep deprivation causes about 20% of all car crashes and injuries. 35% of adults don't sleep between 7-9 hours. And according to the CDC, around 20% of teenagers do not sleep for more than 5 hours. According to research results of scientists specializing in sleep studies, sleep deficiency can lead to chronic fatigue, which can adversely affect work and study. Lack of sleep is also associated with a number of diseases including diabetes, heart disease, stroke, high blood pressure, kidney disease and mood disorders. Chronic sleep deprivation can even affect your appearance. So how many hours of sleep is enough? As people get older, sleep time decreases. 6 years old children need 10 - 12 hours/day to sleep. Teenagers from 14 years old need 8-10 hours of sleep per day. Adults 18 years old need 7-9 hours of sleep per day. People over 65 years old need 7-8 hours of sleep per day. Sleep plays an important role in your physical health. However, experts say that each person's sleep needs are different so everyone needs to manage their sleep time scientifically.