In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

The given prompt aligns with the well-known saying of Albert Einstein “Imagination is more important than knowledge”. Commonly, imagination is something that we create in our minds, and knowledge is the information that we comprehend. In every profession or field, we have witnessed the role of both imagination and knowledge in one form or the other. I mostly disagree with the given prompt because knowledge gives birth to the imagination and also without knowledge imagination would never be a reality. Firstly, will a newly born child ever imagine inventing flying cars or establishing life outside the planet? The answer is an obvious “no” because at that time he or she will not even understand what cars or planets are. But as he or she gradually grows up and gains knowledge about various aspects of the world only then the imagination begins. Will one be able to even imagine defying gravity when, in the first hand, the person has no knowledge about what gravity is? Only after a certain level of understanding do we march towards imagining the topic from different aspects. Therefore, without knowledge imagination is not possible. Our knowledge in fact propels us to think outside the box. Hence, knowledge plays a more vital role in any profession or academic field. Admittedly, imagination has no bounds—one can imagine building up a new world or even destroying the entire universe. But such imaginations possess no significance unless one has the knowledge to make them a reality. For example, during the outbreak of Coronavirus, who might not have imagined formulating the vaccine. But only those with the knowledge about such vaccination and viruses could contribute and others had no other choice than to wait. Would Mark Zuckerberg have been able to build up Facebook without the knowledge of programming? All such examples where people have achieved success and made their imagination a reality because of the application of knowledge clearly depict that knowledge is more important. Lastly, without comprehensive knowledge, our imagination can even lead to havoc. For instance, a person imagining building nuclear weapons might strive towards it; however, if he does not have the knowledge about how incendiary such weapons can be, then the person might ruin himself and his vicinity. Similarly, a person imagining climbing Mt. Everest will definitely fail without the knowledge of ways to surmount the obstacles he or she might have to face. To avoid such repercussions, we have to have adequate knowledge rather than just relying on our imaginations. The current trend of emphasizing only the imagination and not on knowledge is clearly portrayed by the increasing number of startups that do not last for more than a few years. Even though there might be different other reasons for such downfalls, it is often seen that entrepreneurs live in the utopia where they assume that even without having proper knowledge about the market needs, tactics, and other essentials they can succeed. Hence, one cannot outweigh the importance of knowledge and claim imagination to be more important. In summation, knowledge ignites imagination and shows ways to transmute the imaginations into realities, whereas mere imagination can even jeopardize one’s life. Therefore, in every field, knowledge is necessary to succeed and sustain.