In most parts of the world, the volume of traffic is growing at an alarming rate. In the form of an assignment, dicuss about the main traffic problems in your country, their causes and possible solutions

As a developing country, Vietnam is enjoying rapid economic growth, the evidence of which can be seen in all major cities whose streets are teeming with thousands of vehicles of all kinds. Unfortunately, traffic problems invariably ensue. This essay will present these problems and some solutions. Practically, city dwellers are most vexed by traffic congestion. One can be stuck in the traffic for hours during rush hours in Ho Chi Minh City where I live. Cars and buses often advance at a snail pace even off rush hours because there are always some cars ignoring traffic rules, holding up hundreds of cars. Worse still, accidents are increasing daily. With more cars on road, it becomes harder to navigate our vehicle out of a collision course with other cars, bikes, or people. Each year, thousands die or get injured in traffic accidents, not to mention the incalculable property damage. However, traffic accidents and congestion need not to be a necessary evil. Something can be done to reduce them. To begin with, measures should be taken to reduce private car ownership. Increased taxes in gasoline will do well to dampen many people’s enthusiasm for buying a car. In addition, most traffic wardens need to be posted in busy intersections to regulate the flow of traffic. Most accidents occur because people start to take chances when there is no policeman around. Accidents can be vastly reduced if all of us abide by traffic rules. A well-developed public transport system is the ultimate solution. Cheap and reliable, public transport offers comfortable rides to everyone. It is the most energy and space-efficient way to travel in cities unless all people choose to walk or ride bikes, which seems unlikely. All in all, progress often has its casualties and prices to pay. The promise of speed and safety offered by private cars is becoming harder to fulfill each day. Sound planning and measures are required to tackle traffic problems.