In most parts of the world, the volume of traffic is growing at an alarming rate. What can be causes? What can be done to solve it?

It is true that the amount of traffic is increasing rapidly and reaching at an alarming rate. This problem can be explained by several reasons, yet can be alleviated with suitable approaches from government and citizens. In fact, two primary causes contribute to the issue regarding increasing the number of cars and the quality of the roads. Firstly, in an increasingly developed society, the number of cars produced and manufactured is rising and people also tend to use cars to go to work. With a large number of cars, the road will be crowded, which leads to traffic congestion, especially during rush hour. In addition, a poor quality road can also cause traffic jam problems. If there are too many cars on a narrow road, this will cause traffic jams and possibly cause traffic accidents. Besides, when dwellers choose to take the good road instead of the bad quality road, the volume of traffic will be increased significantly on the good road. Needless to say, there should be appropriate approaches to curb this problem. To begin with, the government should ask car manufacturers to increase the selling price of cars. It means that the number of cars on the road will decrease and inhabitants will use other means of transport to avoid traffic congestion. Furthermore, improving public transport such as bus, skytrain, etc which helps citizens use them instead of using private cars. For instance, Japanese often use the subway to go to work, so there are almost no traffic jams in Japan. In conclusion, for analysis above, the volume of traffic reaches an alarming rate resulting from the increase of cars and the quality of roads. However, the situation can be mitigated if the government and citizens take proper action.