In most countries, young people form a large proportion of those who are unemployed. Why is this the case and what can be done to solve the problem?

In today’s world, unemployment is a serious problem and young people without jobs constitute a large part. Undoubtedly, there must be a few reasons behind that, some of which can be easily solved with the help of the governments. First and foremost, in many countries education is out-of-date since most of the teachers belong to the older generation and the teaching they provide is without the use of interactive technology. On the whole, lessons seem to be boring to young people who have a new way of thinking. Secondly, the subjects taught at school are not practically oriented; there are not enough specialized courses and career advisors. As a result, school leavers are not well-prepared for the requirements of business companies, do not know what they want to work, what their strengths are and which profession they are suitable for. Apart from that, finding a job is a difficult experience even for those who are qualified. Not only employers are demanding, insisting on employing young people with experience – a paradox in itself since applicants are either young or experienced but the competition is fierce among the applicants themselves: their resumes are carefully selected, their background is checked, references are read and even those invited for an interview do not always pass. In conclusion, although I believe that it is responsibility of governments to provide enough funds for the appropriate education of both students and teachers, I am convinced that learners are no less responsible when they have to make efforts in order to acquire the knowledge necessary for their lives in the future. When there is a will, there is a way.