In most countries, prison is the most common solution for the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with better education so that they do not become criminals. "

The relative benefits of imprisonment on the one hand and educational improvements aimed at crime prevention on the other are debatable. I take the view that such improvements could only ever produce long-term benefits and even then, they would still not be as effective in dealing with crime as prisons. It is possible that improvements to educational programmes could make a material difference to crime rates. One of the biggest reasons why people fall into crime is inadequate job opportunities, which are often attributable to poor academic achievements and skills deficits. Governments with resources can invest in upgrading schools so that more youngsters leave with more useful qualifications that can open up more and better career opportunities. In contrast, the opportunities to provide such education to prisoners are typically very limited in terms of resources and because of the general public’s desire to see criminals punished, not seemingly rewarded with valuable skills training. Nevertheless, I believe that prisons will, to a large extent, remain more effective than better education could ever hope to be. It is clear that any initiative to improve education with the aim of preventing crime, no matter how far-reaching, can be effective only in the long-term. It takes many years for new academic and skills programmes to be implemented effectively. Furthermore, guaranteeing future results, and the resources required to achieve them, is simply not possible. The effectiveness of prisons, however, is much more tangible especially in the short-term while any new educational programmes come into effect. Incarceration is without doubt a real solution simply because it deprives criminals of their freedom and thereby protects the general public from danger. In summary, the effectiveness of improved educational measures designed to keep people away from a life of crime can only start to be considered in the long-term. Even if results eventually were to filter through, imprisonment would still be a more clearly effective means of dealing with crime, especially in the short term.