In modern societies, more and more people choose to live on their own. What are the reasons people choose to do this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In the modern world, people's tendency to live alone has been increasing drastically. In my opinion, disadvantages of living alone outweigh advantages, and this essay will examine the possible reasons behind this development. To begin with, living alone allows individuals to have sense of freedom and gives them absolute control of their lives. Living with others can be challenging because of personal space invasion by family or friends. For instance, one can decorate their home according to their taste without asking anyone, if they are living alone. However, when people live with others they have to ask for their opinions about everything. In addition, living alone helps individuals. Specially young adults to become independent and self-sufficient people. They have to run errands, pay bills, cook and clean on their own without receiving help from anyone. On the other hand, living alone have plethora of demerits. Firstly, individuals might feel isolated and this may further lead to depression. Humans are social by nature and experiencing lack of emotional support can be highly dangerous for some individuals. For example, people who live on their own, have no one to offer them support or guidance when they face problems or defeats in their lives. Secondly, people who are used to living alone may have difficulty adjusting when they find themselves in social environments. Hence, one’s social skills can be disrupted by living on their own. Finally, an unrestricted lifestyle may lead to extremely harmful habits and taking wrong decisions. Numerous young people who live on their own become addicted to narcotics and alcohol due to lack of guidance from their family and friends. In conclusion, while I agree that there might be some positive outcome to the trend of living alone, I believe that this trend may cause serious issues to individuals.