In Many Western Countries There Are An Increasing Number Of Couples Choosing To Have No Children

It is true that there has been a rise in the number of married couples who do not want to bring a child into this world. This is particularly true in the western world. The main advantage of this trend is that it allows a couple to live a carefree life with fewer responsibilities and the main drawback is they will feel lonely when they get old. Having no children after marriage means fewer responsibilities for a couple. They can enjoy their life free from any extra financial stresses because they do not need to handle the expenditures of raising a child. Therefore, they do not need to work for extra hours to earn more money and they can spend their life fulfilling their dreams and accomplishing their aspirations. For example, a study by The Times shows that 52% of married couples having with no children tend to live a more enjoyable and happier life than those who have children since they remain anxious about their children’s future. On the other hand, the main disadvantage of this phenomenon is that when the couple gets old and infirm they might miss the mental and emotional support which is extremely important for the elderly people. This will make them feel isolated and depressed and they might end up feeling miserable in the twilight years of their life. This situation could worsen if either the husband or the wife dies untimely. In conclusion, although the decision to have no children after marriage is beneficial for people who do not want to be burdened with the responsibilities associated with parenthood, childless couples are more likely to experience loneliness and the lack of a good support system as they age.