You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Writing letters is often thought to be less important than the latest means of communication. In my perspective, modern communication has overcome the use of letter writing. This essay will decipher various reasons for my standpoint. Firstly, the various electronic devices such as computers, laptops and mobile phones are significantly helpful to connect each other within a fraction of seconds. Many individuals, nowadays, are actively occupied in their work commitments. Due to the technology, they may be able to spend quality time with their and family members. To illustrate, with the recent advancement in technology, Internet used in these electronic devices allows everyone to talk and express their feelings. Face to face conversation can also be possible immediately with the various applications like Whatsapp, Skype and a lot more present in these gadgets. This is, unlikely, to happen with the letters since sending the messages through them is a time consuming process. Moreover, urgent information cannot be sent soon with the latter. Therefore, the latest mode of connection is far better than letter writing. Secondly, the digital mode of delivering information is eco-friendly. Hence, it does not require any kind of physical piece of paper. This paperless procedure enables to prevent the deforestation which cannot be obtained by the manual method of conveying messages. For instance, paper is prepared from wood that is produced by the trees. More the paper needed for writing, more will be the cutting of trees that would eventually lead to harm to the environment. Consequently, this favourable environment friendly impact of modern communication will surely takes mankind towards its side instead of the latter method. To recapitulate, because of the rapid delivery of information in the form of verbal and face to face conversation along with the eco-friendly nature of latest technology, I believe that modern communication has an impressive role over ancient method of communication. Therefore, letter writing is no more essential at the present time.