In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A substantial rise in public healthcare expenditure is unbearable for many countries in the world. This essay will fully agree that fast ageing of the people have given birth to over the top cost of health related facilities. Firstly, I will explore the issues which pertain to growth in old age population and secondly what I believe should be done in order to fix this. The population explosion right after the 19th century has been seen in almost every nation. Due to advancement of medical science, it is easier to save human from fatal disease such as Cholera, Marasmus or Jaundice. Thus, decrease in mortality rate and increase in old age group. Although, this increase is not in sync with improved healthcare system. Drop in count of doctors, nurses and paramedic teams lead to scarcity and hence inflation in medical services. In addition to it, healthcare equipments are getting costlier day by day as the new technique comes in for treatment of diseases. Furthermore, governments of various countries have not increased their budget for public healthcare and let the citizens clinging to health insurance types schemes. For example, in Canada and France, the public healthcare is free of cost. Same model should be implemented by every administration. Recent economic downfall, specifically in 1980, 2008 and 2015 have led to sky rocketing price in private hospitals and local clinics. In conclusion, I believe there should be change in way in which global healthcare markets functions. Medical education should be given subsidies and encourage among young students so that medical staff rise. Public hospitals should be given the special privileges from governments.