In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not to build new homes there. What is your opinion?

It is undeniable that with the expansion of cities, new homes are required to accommodate the growing population. As a result of the geographical situation of the cities, the only possible location for this is the countryside. While some people argue that preserving the countryside is more significant than the construction of new residential buildings, I believe that providing new homes for people is also essential. There are several reasons why some people are against building new homes in the countryside. To begin with, most cities are already full of apartments, skyscrapers, office buildings, etc. and the only place where we can get away from the hustle and bustle of the cities and relax in the countryside. In addition, we have a responsibility towards the earth and the future generation. In order to build new houses, trees must be cut down and new roads need to be built which all result in the destruction of the environment. Nevertheless, I believe that the expansion of cities is inevitable and for that, we need to build new residential buildings in the suburbs. Otherwise, we would have to demolish the existing homes in cities and build even more high-rise buildings which would have a drastic effect on the traffic, safety, quality of life and so many other factors. Cities would become extremely over-crowded and eventually, governments would have no control over them. Furthermore, building new houses can be considerably more cost-efficient than destroying the existing buildings in cities and building multiple-storey apartments. In conclusion, although I totally understand the reason some people are in favor of protecting the countryside, I think the only solution for the growing population is to construct new houses on the outskirts of cities.