In many parts of the world children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this case happening? How should children or teenagers be punished?

In contemporary society, it is true that the number of adolescent criminals is significantly increasing in various countries. While there are many reasons young people tend to break the law, I do believe that the governments could certainly come up with some moderate punishments to mitigate this concern. There is a variety of factors that could affect adolescents’ misdeed. To begin with, youngsters could learn some bad behaviors from their surroundings, such as parents. Failing to set up a good model by showing bad manners in front of children, could have a big influence on their behavioral patterns. Also, a lack of moral education in schools may lead teenagers astray. There are few courses related to crimes in compulsory education in most countries. Last but not the least, children who have behavioral problems will not learn a lesson from extremely mild punishments, and they might recommit more crimes to challenge the law in that case. and they might even resort to recidivism in that case. Several ways young offenders should pay for their misdeed according to the severity of the crime are taken into consideration. On one hand, young felons who have misdemeanors should show their regret by making apologies in public, and take compulsory lessons relating to moral principles. On the other hand, for serious cases, youth offenders should be deprived of freedom and pay a huge amount of fine to the victims’ families. For instance, young lawbreakers who have a capital felony such as murder and rape should be put into prison for years and take training courses for the purpose of rehabilitation. In conclusion, while a variety of reasons are attributed to an increasing number of criminal cases committed by adolescents in most areas around the world, I do state that depending on the seriousness of the offense, and there are undoubtedly some appropriate punishments local authorities could take to tackle this issue.