In many parts of the world children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is the case happening? How should children or teenagers be punished?

It is considered by some that the high rate of juvenile delinquency is linked to the aggression displayed by the media. In my opinion, violence portrayed by the media does play a key role in the escalating rate of crimes committed by youth; however, I also believe that video game violence contributes to this issue. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with juvenile crime. Young adults are highly influenced by the media; since the media often shows that heroes are violent and are rewarded for their behaviour, they become role models for youth. In other words, young adults try to imitate the behavior they see believing it makes them "cool" to carry weapons and resolve their issues through aggression. Additionally, children who watch television become desensitised to violence and they come to see it as a way of life. Hence, vulnerable youth who have been victimized maybe tempted to commit crimes as means of resolving problems. The impact of violent video games on adolescents is another important reason ascribing to the increase of juvenile delinquency. The atrocities and brutalities exhibited by many video games have destructive influences on the behavior of teenagers making them more hostile. To illustrate, studies have shown that some video games can alter the brain chemistry and have an effect on the development of children causing them to become addicted to the game and developing aggressive behavior. Thus, when these youth go out in the real-world, some attempt to re-enact those games without thinking of the consequences. There are a few effective solutions to the crimes committed by juveniles. Parents should supervise their children and monitor their actions. Adolescents should not be excessively exposed to violence. Mentoring and educating young adults about the consequences of their actions is also crucial. Another effective solution is to provide counselling and therapy for troubled children and teenagers who have had problems in the past and have a hard time dealing with them. All of the above points should be implemented to successfully decrease juvenile crime. In conclusion, supervising, guiding and providing help for youth who are exposed to too much violence is vital to decrease the crime rate and for their overall well-being.