In many nations students are motivated to do either part-time job or travel to new places, during the break between the completion of high school and the begining university studies.

In many nations students are motivated to do either part-time job or travel to new places, during the break between the completion of high school and the begining university studies. Even though, obvious benefits can be observed because of this activity, we cannot ignore the drawbacks. In this essay we will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this activity. To begin with, there are several benefits can be observed, when the students do a part-time job or travel during break. Firstly, doing a job will give an opportunity to earn extra money, which students can use to pay college tuition fees during the university studies. Secondly, it will provide good exposure to working environment to the students, and this experience will immensely beneficial during their career after finishing the studies. Lastly, travelling to new places or foreign countries will also give very good exposure to the culture and customs of the new places. On the contrary, negative aspect of this activity is also widely observed. The first evident drawback is, the stress it will bring to the students, if they avoid to utilize the break for leisure activities such as doing some sports, spending time with family and friends etc. Furthermore, in some cases, students are attracted to the money they earn during their part-time job or the new places they visited and would like to settle there. In both cases they eventually end up in discontinuing the studies. To conclude, though there are considerable benefits such as earning extra money or getting exposure to new culture and customs observed, the drawbacks are definitely significant, especially the situation, which leads to discontinuation of studies.