In many modern societies, grandchildren rarely spend any quality time with their grandparents. What do you think the consequences of this?

In the modern world like nowadays, it is undeniable that many grandparents do not have any time with their grandchild. Yet in some countries, in particular, the developed countries where many working parents spare less time with other senior members of the family, there are likely fewer and fewer grandchildren spent intense and quality time with their grandparents. In my view, this circumstance may bring severe adverse for both of them, especially in their mental health. By spending less time with their grandchildren, many grandparents might experience loneliness. In fact, some grandparents, who live separated in a different city from their children and grandchild, may feel abandoned. For example, there are numerous studies that convey the Alzheimer might occur because of this situation. As for the grandchildren, lacking intense time with their grandparents might limit their mental development. In other words, children only obtain one-side information about life that deliver by their parents and, in the future, they may have fewer different perspectives in their adult life which they can learn from their grandparents that tend to be wiser than the parents. In light of this, the grandchildren’s mental health might be affected since they have no other people to tell stories and bad experiences (such as bullies or racial abuse) that should also be shared with their grandparents. For instance, current research in Indonesia proved that many children had mental problems because they can not convey the bad treatments from their friends to other family members, such as their grandparents. As such it can be concluded that in the current modern era where many parents are most likely to reduce the time for their child to meet their grandparents may lead to drawbacks not only for the grandparents but also for the children. The grandparents’ brain health might be affected negatively by this condition, while the grandchildren’s mental development may also be harmed.