: In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Trends of collecting information are declining substantially across the world. In most countries, it is seen that the young population who either read newspapers or watch the news on TV is very less in number. This essay will explain the possible causes and will suggest some ways to improve the current scenario. The first and the foremost cause due to which this habit is not much prevalent in younger ones is an imitation from their parents. Parents nowadays spend more time on their respective cell phones and so-called social media, that's why children tend to copy their parents and don't bother about reading print media or watching the news on TV. For instance, my younger brother's child is 7 years old and he is always busy playing games on mobile phones rather than reading newspapers. Secondly, there is a problem in the current education system as well. Teachers give so much homework to children that they barely find any time to read or watch the same. For example, as per the recent study from Harvard University, more than 40% of students don't habitual of reading because of their hectic study schedule. So, with the lack of time and imitation issue, people from early ages tend to attract to other means of communication rather than reading newspapers or following the news. There can be two possible solutions to this emerging issue worldwide. Firstly, their parents should take out some time from their busy schedule and sit with them in order to encourage them to read. For example, a recent online survey suggested that people who read often with their young ones are more proficient in reading skills than their counterparts. Secondly, the education system needs to improve so that the children get more time apart from their studies. So, these are some necessary steps to be taken into account while improving the current situation. In Conclusion, it is our collective responsibility to develop the reading habit among our children and the news to get to know more about our surroundings.