In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking has been banned in public places like parks, beaches, restaurants and public transportation in many nations. This essay agrees with this idea because this ban can lessen the risk of passive smoking and also stop youngsters from getting influenced by it. The main reason why public smoking should be prohibited is to protect people from the health problems associated with second hand smoke. That is to say, non-smokers who accidentally inhale other people’s tobacco smoke are highly prone to health issues like lung cancer, cardiovascular diseases and respiratory difficulties. According to the World health organization, passive smoking causes six lakh deaths each year and among that one third are children. In 2004, a nationwide comprehensive smoke free law prohibiting public smoking was implemented in Ireland and after four weeks, the country observed a 69 percent reduction in the number of patients affected by passive smoking. The second reason is that forbidding smoking in public places saves / prevents young people from getting attracted to it. Smoking cigarettes is considered as a status symbol by many people and some teenagers may smoke just to fit in. By banning these products, young children will be less vulnerable to smoking and they will not be easily tempted to try such things. For example, In Ireland, after announcing public smoking as illegal, the number of teenage smokers nearly halved in a few months. In conclusion, banning smoking in public places is a good move as it prevents innocent people from dying of passive smoking and discourages young people from getting attracted to smoking.