In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

The technological development over the years has resulted in the diminishing use of newspapers. In most countries reading newspapers and watching the news on T. V is observed to be an outdated idea of gaining knowledge especially in the younger generation. In This essay, I will discuss the causes that I think are responsible for the declining popularity of newspapers and T. V news in young people and suggest some possible solutions to this issue. There are two main causes are behind the declining interest of youth in newspapers and T. V news. First and foremost is the lack of time, since the world we live in today is very competitive and the youth are struggling to manage time between studies, jobs, sports, and extracurricular activities. In such situations newspapers and T. V news has lost their impact because following news through these mediums is time-consuming. In other words, the younger generation prefers to acquire relevant knowledge in the least possible time. Furthermore, technological development is a huge contributor. Younger people today are exposed to all available technological gadgets such as mobile phones, laptops, etc. through which they have full access to all kinds of information as and when required. Moreover, technological advancement has made multitasking more popular in youth, they can read or listen to the news while they commute to their universities or their workplace. To keep with the high paced youth generation the news media industry must undergo a number of changes. I strongly suggest that newspapers must add an extra front page which includes only headlines and a tiny amount of relevant information. The T. V news must run shows such as quick news once every half hour. In conclusion, the youth are surely drifting away from traditional news media unless few changes are made to attract them back, youth too needs to understand that these mediums are our historical heritage.