In many countries, traditional customs are being lost. Why do you think is this happening? What schools and parents can do to stop it?

In this day and age, culture and tradition of many communities all over the world are dying. Family and educational reasons could be part of the root causes of this steady decline. In my firm conviction, parents and schools should take some serious action to keep the traditions alive. There are various reasons regarding the loss of traditional values in many countries. The most crucial factor could be rapid globalization which contributes to the exchange of cultural values. The interconnectedness and expansion of cultural ties between people, particularly due to migration caused the young generation to learn from each other’s fashion and habits. Another reason might be that in this modern life, parents do not emphasize on their traditional customs in their children upbringing. With this in mind, technology development and new social media, such as Facebook and Instagram have a significant influence on the young generation who did not grow with strong cultural values. The loss of cultural identity, therefore, is continuing dangerously by modernization. It seems culture and traditional customs are disappearing due to lack of efforts to preserve and transmit. By the large, the strong association between parents and schools in terms of education play a major role in this subject. The important function is the preservation of culture or social heritage. Parents and schools should inculcate the traditional values and morals into the tender mind of pupils particularly in primary education where a child begins to respect the importance of life. In addition to the preservation of culture, they should also try to transmit the existing cultural experiences and values from one generation to another through various programs and practices. Preservation and transmission of cultural identity by parents and schools in contemporary society have measured as the highest achievement of civilization. TO conclude, it is obvious that in our modern and hectic life, the value of traditional customs is on the verge of disappearing. Although globalization and technology advancement could be contributing factors to the current loss of culture, parents and schools should take some actions to keep traditional customs alive and transmit to the next generations.