In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment.

In a wide range of countries there are several highly qualified graduates that are currently unemployed. One key cause for this is that there are not enough vaccant positions at the countries employers available but a viable solution for this is to start more fiscal spending and in turn incentivise companies to create more jobs. The main reason for lack of open positions at various employers is that the company is rather restrictive in the creation of new jobs. Since the respective companies conclude that business outlook is rather dull they do not extend the portfolio, customers or investments and therefore also need less graduates. As an example, I applied as a working student at Deutsche Bahn but since the COVID-19 pandemic is still ongoing and the end of the confinements is still far away, they stopped all new applications and any ongoing hiring process. A solution that has often proven to be successful in times of a crisis is increased government spending. When the countries leadership changes their policy and starts incentivising the companies more investments are being made and the economy begins to grow. As a result, it often leads to a likewise increase in new businesses and more job offerings. There numerous examples that support this idea. For instance, Berlin suffered a big reduction of jobs in the last financial crisis. However, the city started to give subsidies specifically to the start-up industry and as a result many new investors were attracted and jobs were created that required high-skilled labour. In summary, there are many examples throughout the world that show that more spending by the government can lead to more job openings and in turn reduce the unemployment of highly qualified graduates.