In many countries today, parents are able to send their children to single-sex schools or co-education schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life.

Education is the tool for a better future. While, some say that studying in a single gender school poses certain drawbacks to the students in their life ahead, I believe, so does a coeducational system has. This essay shall intend to explore the merits and demerit of both the approaches to reach a conclusion. To begin with, an advantage that common educational institutes offer is that the genders may benefit each other in overall academic progress. To exemplify, boys can assist girls in enhancing their sports skill, whereas the latter may help the former in studies. Additionally, by studying together they inculcate the ethics to greet, respect, and talk. Consequently, this might happen, when children, at puberty, may feel attracted to the other gender, as a result of which, they may get distracted from their studies. Ultimately, hampering their own curricular growth. On the other hand, the major advantage of going to a single sex school is that they may have better concentration in studies. The reason being the absence of male or females. They may not hesitate to clarify their doubts without thinking about their impression on opposite sexes. For example, it is observed such schools have a high percentage of students, who pass their matriculation exams in comparison to the co-ed schools. However, they may suffer in future regarding, not being comfortable talking or working with the opposite sex, but slowly this problem could diminish with more exposure. In conclusion, each of the system of schooling has advantages like: better scores, learning ethics, being confident, and disadvantages: fascination towards other gender, uncomfortable to work. Nevertheless, I think what should be important is education, these small problems can be overcome with parental guidance and with time.