In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single sex schools or co educational schools. Some people think that children going to single sex schools have disadvantages later in life njgo

In various countries worldwide today, parents have the freedom to select the type of schools for their children. Weighing the advantages and disadvantages of both, they opt for either single – sex schools or co-educational schools. In my opinion, I strongly feel that children going to single sex schools have disadvantages later in life. While schools are thought to be a stepping stone in a child’s life and play a major role in molding their thought processes, being exposed to the fellow children of same sex, poses limitations to the exposure that a child can get. Being in single-sex schools does not give the children an option to understand what goes on inside the head of the opposite sex children and how they react and live in the society which poses great disadvantage for them later in life when they actually have to deal with them. For example, my sister was in a girl’s school and she was a brilliant student throughout. However, once she entered college to pursue her career further, she faced a lot of problems dealing with boys in the college. She was too shy and often intimidated by them which adversely affected her grades. On the other hand, students who go to co-educational schools, are much more confident in dealing with every situation. Over time, they tend to develop a fair understanding of the behavior and conduct of the opposite sex in society and are well aware of various ways to manage and cope up with them. For example, I have studied in a co-educational school myself and never have I had any phobia in presenting my opinions on any forum. A lot of it comes from the confidence that I have built from my early days at school. To conclude, since the society we live in is a mix of all genders, it is very important to have an early exposure to all its facets so that children can experience an overall development without being at a disadvantage of being exposed to just one gender.