In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

It is quite prevalent that these days, novels and television shows related to crime are becoming increasingly popular in some parts of the world. This essay will discuss the main cause of this trend and I believe that this negatively influences individuals. Firstly, the major reason for the escalating popularity of crime fiction and TV shows is that people have a craving for this genre. Books and episodes associated with criminal affairs contain suspense, tragedy and unexpected climax, unlike other genres, which glue the audience until the end. For example, the most well-known Hollywood movie of 2019 was Joker, which was a crime based movie and was full of suspense. Therefore, this paragraph portrays that the interest of viewers in this genre is the key-object for the popularity of crime-related novels and TV series. Secondly, the society seems to have an increasing fascination with solving criminal mysteries. More specifically, people like to put themselves in the shoes of the detective and try to solve crimes. Crime novels and television crime dramas put and adverse effect on one's mind. Individuals, especially youngsters, get influenced when they watch or read their favorite characters engaging in murder, robbery and other criminal activities to earn money and fame. As a result, they try to imitate their actions in their real lives without considering the detrimental effects due to their immaturity. Thus, it is evident that crime based novels and television shows can lead young individuals to commit a crime. In conclusion, the above explained points make it clear that the people are interested in crime-related fiction books and TV series and this genre has a considerable bearing on individuals encouraging them to involve in wrongdoings.