In many countries these days, the number of people continuing their education after school has decreased, and the range of courses available at universities and colleges has also increased. Do you think this is a positive of negative development?

Nowadays, education plays a vital role in our life, from the moment we start going to school, till the day we find the job of our dreams. But, in the past few years, more and more people choose not to achieve higher education, while universities have significantly increased their courses. But, do the pros outweigh the cons in this situation? In my opinion, not continuing in higher schooling has a mixture of positive and negative aspects, and in this essay I will discuss why. Firstly, most individuals do not continue their learning since they want to start earning money and become independent. This is a result of our over consumptive society, and it is unavoidable. Consequently, job positions that otherwise would not be preferred are getting filled up, prospering some undervalued sectors of our economy. To illustrate, the Greek government, issued a study in 2010 which proved that, due to the lack of students going to University the Farming sector had seen a rise of more than 12%. On the other hand, the lack of further learning in the general population, results in a significant decrease in our education level, with consequences in our society’s future. Regarding the increase in course range, this has two opposite outcomes. On the one hand, it gives students the opportunity to pick exactly what they wish to pursue, rather than something they did not really desire. On the other hand, it makes it more difficult for some students that are not sure for their future to decide, possibly leading them into quitting study. For example, from my own experience as a student, because of the hundreds of options I had to choose from, and my insecurities about pursuing what I liked, I led myself to leaving school and started working in a restaurant. Lastly, it must be noted that, the effects of the huge range of courses are different for every student. Taking everything into consideration, there are pros and cons, regarding people not attending University. But, it’s my firm belief that, individuals must plan ahead and have the appropriate help from home, in order to take the best possible decision for themselves.