Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

Movies are generally without any doubt the most common entertainment platform across the world. It is very usual these days to invest a lot of money for a production of a single movie. This essay will discuss whether it is important to spend high on film production and also provides examples for the various factors involved in the success of a movie. Firstly, the amount of money being invested depends on the movie genre. To be clear, genre like fantasy, action, adventure often requires high budget when comparing to romantic movies. In order to make the film enjoyable to the audience, graphic shots should be of world class which in turn requires high budget. For example, the movie avatar at its period was the most expensive film, but it is also the one which had high revenue across the world. Thus, it is a common belief that spending more money yields a great revenue. However, money is not the only factor contributes to a movie’s success. One of the main factors behind a successful movie is its story line. It is believed that story line is the backbone of a film and there are lot of examples to prove it. Lot of French movies and Malayalam movies from India does not have high budget, the producers trust the importance of story and as a result every movie with a good plot is a success in its region. In addition, character development arc is also an important factor. To give an example, breaking bad series is a huge success because of its character development. Thus, a success of a movie can be influenced by a lot of factors. In conclusion, it is up to the audience to decide whether a movie is good or not. There are audience for high budget franchise movies as well as movies with good story lines. A right balance between both would be healthy to sustain the film industry growth on a longer run.