Governments give lots of support to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been spent better elsewhere.

Numerous artists are well supported by their governments, but some feel that this is a misuse of taxpayers' money. Although many artists could not continue to work without this support, I feel that public healthcare is in more urgent need of money. On the one hand, it is difficult for many arts institutions to generate profit, so many theatres and other such places may have to close without government help. The government must assist such institutions so that they can continue to provide entertainment to the public. For example, there are many open-air concerts in the summer months in my hometown, which would not exist without the local council's financial backing. However, I would argue that if these places were popular enough, they would generate their own income. On the other hand, public hospitals all over the world are under financial strain. It would seem obvious that people's health is of more importance that people's entertainment, so this money should be given to hospitals to upgrade equipment and shorten waiting lists. For instance, Downshire Hospital in Ireland has blamed the lack of public funding for its shortage of nurses and available beds. Therefore, I believe that the money given to artists should be redirected into the healthcare system. In conclusion, although we may have fewer opportunities to enjoy artists' work, I maintain that the money should be put into hospitals because people's health is a more worthy cause.