In Many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing what problem does this cause and what solutions can be given. Give your opinion on the matter.

With the advancement of the science and medicine the life expectancy of the individual has increased mainfolds, this in turn has led to increase in the number of older population, as we all know every development has its own repercussion, the proportionate rise in aged people has created problem to the society, which need to be taken care of. According to my opinion combined effort of both government and individual is required to solve the issue. Rise in number of senior citizen as created ample of challenges for the state firstly, the pension amount has increased which forms part of government fund secondly, the authorities have to invest huge amount of money on building hospitals and health care facilities which In turn affect the revenue expenditure of the state moreover, lawmakers have to make recreational/ retirement homes to maintain the older people. For e. g. In the recent survey by the leading magazine in European countries, it was seen that their population census shows that 64% of people in their country are above 58 years old and out of which most of them are retired, so more than half of the government revenue is spent on their maintenance. However, on the other hand, there are few measures which can be taken to curb the problem firstly, the retirement age should be increased, so that individual is allowed to work till when he/she is fir enough to carry on the work instead of just letting number deciding the capacity to work, secondly, lawmakers should come up with new pension and retirement fund scheme, in which major portion of contribution should be from individual and authorities should invest small amount as compared to them and finally, the health care services and infrastructure should be built by the national budget, all of the above measures will help in reducing the burdon on both the taxpayer and state. To conclude, according to my opinion the rise in population of aged people has created many challenges for the authorities and taxpayers as their hard earned money is being utilized for the older dependent lot, but there are certain measures which can ease out the problem and would have greater impact like changing the retirement age, pension schemes should be changed, healthcare facilities scheme should be revamped etc. Moreover, the combined effort of both government and individual is required to solve the issue at hand.