ESSAY: CITY vs COUNTRYSIDE Some people say it is good to live in the countryside, while others think the urban areas are better places to reside.

People often fall in a dilemma whether to live in either a rural or urban set up. Both these options have their own significance and the selection from these is really a challenge for the modern man. On the one hand, those who support the rural set up think that the peaceful and pleasing atmosphere it offers can be rarely found elsewhere. They project the picturesque villages, where people socialise each other with lower levels of anxiety and rare mood disturbances. They add, these places are almost free from irritants and pollutants, which create a platform for a healthy and a longer life. Even though there are fewer available healthcare facilities, the rural population faces less threat from morbid situations, and this can be seen as a pertinent example for this. Therefore, they strongly suggest a life away from an urban set up. On the other hand, many people prefer to be city-dwellers owing to the invaluable opportunities the city life offers. One of the major merits they highlight is the provision of superior standards of living in the urban areas. For example, the urban population has better health, education and transportation, to name but a few. Another reason why these people recommend this life is because of its fastness. In cities, within a shorter time span, people can engage in a variety of activities, with which they can entertain their minds as well as their bodies. No wonder why more and more people migrate to cities today. After analysing both these views in detail, though the countryside offers a much needed living atmosphere to the modern man, I think, his endless needs persuade him to adapt with a city.