In many countries the number of visitors to art galleries has been steadily declining. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to improve the situation*?

Art is the ability of expressing the inexpressible; painting the finite inspired from the infinite. Art galleries have housed thought provoking depictions. However, decades ago, the delight of gazing upon them was a luxury enjoyed by the wealthy who became patrons for artists. However, with the advent of democracy art galleries and museums have become accessible to all. Despite that, these places continue to witness a decrease in the number of visitors due to both intrinsic and extrinsic factors. There are myriad of reasons for lowering rate of respondents. Firstly, there is a notion that art museums are places only for the affluent. Secondly, scientific and technological progress has generated a shift in preference towards digitalized mode of recreation. Lastly, topics like mythology, religion and grim historical realities which were prime inspirations for painters have become unconventional among masses. Consequently, reducing the understanding quotient. We can address the issue by adopting a parallel approach. Setting up an additional space for conducting accessory activities like performance and music or playing a digital video in order to convey the idea of the picture could enhance the overall experience of the visitors. An expert could equip them with the knowledge about the subject matter. For example, it would be food for thought to know that "The Starry night" was created by Michaelangelo during his stay in a mental asylum. Another approach could be reducing the entry fee to offer accessibility to people from all economic stratas. Moreover, students trips and collaboration with educational institutions could be a practical solution. According to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach to the conclusion that dying attraction of art galleries could be revived and masses could be drawn to it, provided that the above stated measures are taken.