A recent survey by a high school teacher reveals an alarming deficiency of basic life skills among high school students. What are the causes of this problem? Suggest possible solutions to the problem.

Students are the seeds of the society’s life, but their life skills elucidate destruction to the growth of those seeds. There has been evidence showing a deficiency of basic skills among high school students, and this phenomenon possess causes now presented and compatible solutions now suggested. Life skills possess six main criteria: communication and interpersonal skills; assertiveness and equanimity; self-awareness and empathy; decisions making and problems solving; creative thinking and critical thinking; resilience and perseverance. These following ideas are based on those six aspects. At the threshold of a revolutionary technological and scientific era, tradition ways of information transmission are progressively being replaced by modern ones, one of which prominently named social media. The appearance of social media summons the lack of responsibility towards our corporal communication, interconnection towards our community and society and proper self-care towards ourselves. Consequently, high school students subconsciously lose hang of basic communication and interpersonal skills, as well as their assertiveness and equanimity. Simultaneously, self-awareness and empathy prove to be going downhill. The scarcity of these three factors subsequently leads to the deficiency of life skills among high school students. Solution to this circumstance would be implicitly and explicitly encourage the students to settle down, reflect on their lives and learn to understand themselves. In the context of a highly-integrating epoch, introductions and innovations of various ideas continually occur; the minority of students shows the willingness to actively live, while the majority of others have the tendency of passively existing. The crux doesn’t lie at the deficit of ideas; it is the determination and self-assurance that matters. Accordingly, this creates the insufficiency in the capability of making decisions and solving problems, the enhancement of creative thinking and critical thinking, as well as the inability of maintaining resilience and perseverance. The dearth of these three elements therefore leads to the deficiency of life skills among the objects of research. Resolution to this situation would be individuals, families and society creating opportunities for self-expression, inserting extracurricular activities for self-improvement and balancing the relationship between theoretical work and practical practice. All in all, life skills’ deficiency appears to be an alarming issue of the contemporary setting, with causes to be aware and solutions to be tackled. The seeds of life must continue growing, and nutritional substances must continue supporting those seeds.