In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

It is clear that technological advancements in recent years have increased the share of mobile apps in online transactions. Although there are some drawbacks of this trend, my view is that they are outweighed by its advantages. One of the main threats of using apps for payments could be the risk of information security. This is because breakthrough technologies, in turn, provided new horizons for fraudsters. For example, the programs require access to certain user info and without confirming this sharing of data, the full functions of the said program might not be available. By breaking the defense system of the app, the hackers may get the confidential information including bank details. Moreover, the mobile apps might facilitate the consumption culture and overspending. This happens because the virtual world represents a big marketing platform, where different products and services are being offered to people all the time, even though the individuals were not planning to make purchase. On the other hand, mobile apps create many opportunities, chief among them easy and fast usability. In modern age, one can make purchase by entering the bank card info and making few clicks. For instance, paying the monthly rent or utility bills via an installed mobile app saves plenty of time and efforts. Furthermore, mobile apps make the physical deals unnecessary. A tourist wishing to buy a plane ticket or book a hotel no longer needs to visit travel agency's office, but can easily review, compare and book the suitable package from their phone. In conclusion, despite the certain shortfalls of mobile app payments, such as confidentiality issues and encouragement of over-consumption, they are outperformed by advantages like ease of operations, quickness and location-wise flexibility.