: Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

International sports events are held all over the world and many people believe that hosting one, will significantly boost their country's economy, tourism and reputation. Whilst others argue that it could have a negative effect on the local people. Firstly, sports is highly demanding and popular among almost everyone from young teenagers to older people. Secondly, holding an international sports event will have a huge impact on the country's economy with a boost in tourism and sales in the local areas. Not only a temporary increase in sales but a long-term investment as many businesses are bound to join later on. Overall, it elevates the hosting city's profile as well as its reputation. Now that we know the benefits, we should also keep in mind that with high profit comes greater risks. Despite the high cost of investments and short-term usage of facilities, local people might have to pay higher taxes to pay costs. Out of all these problems, one of the major risks of holding an international sports event is security concerns. Anything can happen in the middle of the local and international crowds without strict and proper security. Also, due to the current COVID-19 situation, raises serious health concerns amongst the people. Once again, it is not just the city affected, but the whole nation. In conclusion, I personally think that before hosting an international event in a particular city or the country, a serious survey or poll can be conducted by the government or the hosts to know both the international and local peoples' true opinions and suggestions.