in many countries paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

In this era of digitalization, we have become habitual of getting almost every job done through the internet or smart-phone applications, whether it is related to pay utility bills or school fee. Paying from the phone apps for regular groceries and shopping has become increasingly popular in most countries. Whether it has more advantages or disadvantages is debatable; however, I believe it has more advantages. There are many positives of paying online but to me, the most important is that it is time-saving. We are always running out of time due to our hectic schedules, these paying apps can save our precious time. For instance, if I have to pay my utility bills on an urgent basis, I can pay all the bills with a single click without the hassle of traveling to the bank; therefore, due to this reason, these paying applications are a time saver. Additionally, the use of these apps is way more convenient than the conventional way of paying in cash. Carrying paper money always comes with the stress of keeping it secure so that one does not deprived of it. To exemplify this, we don’t have to carry hard cash for online payments; consequently, no need to carry hefty amount before shopping, bill payment, and grocery payment. Due to the fact that these online paying applications are safe and convenient, these applications have ultimately made our lives easier and stress free. On the other hand, it has some drawbacks as well. The major con of online payments through these applications is the risk of fraud. In fact, one needs to enter his personal details for online paying methods, which ultimately increases the risk of scam for the owner. People need to be vigilant and attentive before providing their credentials. To conclude, it is undeniable fact that online payment methods have both merits and demerits; however, the security, convenience and time saving aspects of a phone application to pay for utilities outweigh the negatives of being scammed.