In many countries, mainly tourists, but not local people, visit museums and historical sites. Why does this happen, and what could be done to attract more local people to visit these places? bjwq

Museums and other historical places seem to be less appealing to the people residing nearby but at the same time attracts alot of visitors from places far away. This could be due to the lack of interest among the local people. However certain measures can be applied in order to overcome this happening. The first reason is due to the fact that many local people take these heritages for granted. They reckon that these sites are going nowhere and so they will visit then sooner or later. However the time seldom comes when they take time out of their hectic schedule to travel to these places. On the other hand, the tourists travel to such destinations with a motive to witness all the cultural heritages and historic museums. For instance, I visited Hyderabad in order to see the Ramoji film city which is the biggest film city in the world. While my relatives residing in Hyderabad had never been there. In fact they decided to see it only after listening to my comments. Another reason is that nothing new is being added to these places and so the people who have already been there do not wish to frequent again and again. In other words, the organization of new programs are few and do not intrigue the locals. Furthermore the charges for visiting these sites are too high as people are often requires to buy expensive tickets. In order to augment the interest of people in coming to museums, multitude of ways can be employed. School trips can be organized for children so that they could learn several things which in turn boosts their cognitive skills. Moreover the passes for entry into these heritages could be arranged for the locals. In addition, a day could be fixed every month when the entry is made free. For example, the entry to war memorial is free on every first tuesday and there is great rush of people on that day. To conclude, albeit some people do not pay much heed to these sites, steps like organising educational trips and providing free passes could help in expanding the number of people getting attracted towards such places.