In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a house with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

Once finishing school, leaving the parents’ house and start living on its own or sharing a house with friends is a part of the coming of age for a huge number of students. On first sight, this development is advantageous, but indeed, it does not only offer benefits. Thus, living alone or even with friends can be truly challenging. Despite the new environment and the new educational obligations, such as handing out an assignment in time, domestic duties, such as doing the groceries or vacuuming need also be done. This could be overwhelming for some adolescents, especially for those, who are not so mature. Moreover, sharing a house with friends or even strangers can be tricky as well. While living at the parents´ home, the habits of the family are well known, but by sharing a house with persons outside of the family, some habits can be new and this can lead to disputes. As a consequence, a long-lasting friendship could end. Besides this, living alone can also offer some benefits. First of all, it is a part of coming of age and the individual becomes more independent. Furthermore, some families will also benefit from this separation. If, for instance, the family had to handle with disputes regularly, and these controversies mostly dealt with mundane things, such as tidy up the living room, a separation could help the family to think about their behaviour and resolve the problems. In addition to this, sharing a house with friends instead of living alone offers economic and social facilities, such as lower costs and the possibility of social interaction. To conclude, moving away is a normal development in life, that has to be taken by most of the individuals. In my opinion, leaving the house right after graduation is beneficial and especially living together with friends will help to start an independent life as an adult.