In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Inhibiting in gigantic flat blocks has been increasingly attractive to many city dwellers. Although exorbitant rents can be the primary drawback of living in large apartment areas, in my opinion, accommodating in such areas has numerous advantages. On the one hand, living in large apartment blocks provide tremendous convenience and social opportunities to residents. Being convenient is the primary reason for most people choosing large apartment blocks. Since these areas usually provide various available facilities for inhabitants within a short distance, they do not need to spend too much time getting to different places. Besides, gigantic flat areas consist of a population with diverse backgrounds, which allows people to interact socially with each other. By participating in various social interactions, people can broaden their friend zones and experience different cultures. On the other hand, paying high rent can be the major disadvantage of accomodating in big apartment neighbours. As maintaining these large properties need to spend enormous money, to offset the maintenance fees and make profits, landlords have to charge higher rents than remote areas. However, for people who receive low incomes, limited salaries will limit their budgets for accommodations. Paying expensive rents might result in additional financial burdens to them. Nevertheless, this kind of situation can be tackled if residents share apartments with roommates who can split the expensive rentals. In conclusion, despite that accommodating large flat neighbours requires additional expenditures on rents, this disadvantage can be resolved by having roommates. Besides, residents of large apartment blocks receive convenient facilities and make more social interactions.