In many cities, there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In many metropolises, older buildings are torn down to make way for newer buildings, as well as to make up for the tight space and as a way to advance into the modern world. There are a few downsides to replacing older buildings, albeit there are some benefits as well. One drawback to getting rid of older buildings is that the city might lose a piece of its history. Take for example, an old building used to be famous for being the first theatre in the country, so this definitely offers historical value to the city. If this were to be torn down, the city might not only lose its history, but also its identity. Furthermore, people from around the world may be interested to visit the building, therefore boosting the economy. Tearing down older buildings might rid people of the opportunity to learn about the city's history, thus may eventually negatively impact the city's tourism. Another disadvantage is demolishing older buildings and building a new one may be labour extensive. This can definitely cost a substantial amount of money. For instance, planning and constructing a new building might cost up to millions of dollars. This does not only impact the city's economy, it is also negatively affecting the city's budget. To illustrate, if most of the city's annual budget is spent on making a new building, the budget allocated for health care might be reduced. On the other hand, one of the main benefits of replacing older buildings with new ones is newer buildings may improve the city's scenery and landscape. In other words, instead of having a dilapidated building in the middle of the city, a new building can offer a fresher perspective. Moreover, new buildings fit in with the advancement towards the modern world, and shows that a city is flourishing. In conclusion, even though newer buildings give the city a fresh look, the drawbacks of tearing down older buildings to make way for new ones such as the city losing its historical value and it being an expensive project outweigh this benefit. Therefore, the city should come up with a compromise to resolve this issue, such as renovating older buildings instead.