In many cities the use of video cameras (CCTV) at public places is being increased inorder to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict individual’s freedom. Do the benefits of these CCTV cameras outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that installation of video surveillance in some public areas increases significantly in urban areas to combat with crime. Although, to some extent it is an intrusion in individual’s private lives, I feel that it becomes the important weapon in this unrested society to curb the problem of crime. On the one hand, there are few drawbacks of this technology for the common people. Firstly, these measures confine the individual’s privacy by causing Infiltration into their daily lives as people do not feel comfortable while roaming under visual supervision whenever they visit supermarkets, stores etcetera as cameras treat them like criminals. Secondly, in offices, this digital monitoring system restrict employees creativity because their each and every movement is recorded visually and in this way they are bound to perform in a controlled environment where they might not be able to explore themselves to their full potential. Finally, monitoring data can sometimes be misused by the corrupt officials of authorities who may sell it to any kind of anti social powers like any terrorist groups which might prove to be detrimental for that particular country in so many regards. On the other hand, I believe that these cameras are more beneficial for the citizens as well as for authorities due to following reasons. First and foremost, these devices help to reduce the number of criminal incidents by keeping an eye on people round the clock which not only help to save the precious lives of individuals but also instill a sense of fear among perpetrators and deter the offenders to execute the criminal intentions. Moreover, CCTV footages can be used as authentic evidence by investigation agencies to find the real culprits as they are always regarded as concrete evidence in judiciary. Last but not least, with the assistance of these devices businesses will certainly have a great chance to flourish more as they can remain open for longer hours like local shops and malls will be able to incline their earnings by cutting down the expenses of security arrangements. In conclusion, no doubt the step of installing CCTV cameras is criticized due to having some drawbacks; I believe that these become the backbone of the security system of every nation.