Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, supermarkets are hoarded with food products from around the world. Some people would argue that it would be better if food produce was not imported. According to me, i believe that besides our local if we have enough imported food we could sell it in our local super shop but one thing we have to remember there should no bad effect on our local food, Here i will discuss both view in this essay. First and foremost, It is certainly the case that importing food can have a negative effect on local culture. This could be seen in countries such as Japan where imported food has become more popular than traditional, local produce, People are more tend to the imported food. Although some people claim that this is a natural part of economic development in an increasingly global world, A second major reason to reduce imports is the environmental cost. Currently, many food imports, such as fruit, are transported thousands of miles by road, sea and air, making the product more expensive to buy and increasing pollution from exhaust fumes. Despite the fact that the trade in food exports has existed for many years, I am convinced that a reduction would bring significant financial and environmental gains. However, many jobs depend on food exports and some less developed countries may even depend on this trade for economic survival. In spite of this, the importance of developing local trade should not be undervalued. In conclusion, Reducing food imports would have cultural and environmental benefits. What is more, the local economy should, in time, prosper commercially as the demand for local and regional products remains high resisting the competition from overseas.