In general, people do not have such a close relationship with their neighbours as they did in the past. Why is this so, and what can be done to improve contact between neighbours

Nowadays, people do not have close relationships with neighbours as they are busy in their work and family. In earlier times, people use to bond with their neighbours and be a support system for each other. There are many reasons of not having a close relationship with their neighbours as compared to old days. To begin with, nowadays, people do not have enough time to mingle with their neighbours as they are busy in managing their work and family time. In other words, they are not interested in building any relationship with their neighbours due to lack of spare time. Secondly, nowadays, people change their living places very frequently due to work commitments where they have to travel a lot or get transfer from one city to another. Hence, they do not express any excitement of building relationship with their neighbours. Moreover, people do not want to initiate any relation with other families living in the society because they prefer more privacy in their life. Unfortunately, due to such reasons, the gap between the neighbours is increasing day by day. To bring togetherness amongst them, more society functions can be organised so that they get a chance to talk with each other. For instance, barbeque parties and common Christmas and New Years' celebrations. Apart from such celebrations, some communal sports event such as football, and volleyball match could be helpful to build the relationship between the neighbours. Such initiatives can build the friend zone amongst them. To conclude, undoubtedly, due to lack of time people cannot build a close relationship with their neighbours, but one should start taking initiative to talk with each other which may result in good relationship at later stage.