In education and employment some people work harder than the others. What are the reasons? Is it a positive thing?

It is true that there are people who exert more effort in their jobs or studies than the others. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this attitude and why I believe it’s not always a good thing. There are several reasons why some individuals are more dedicated to their work or education than other people. First of all, it roots from their level of motivation to attain their goals. Because they want to achieve something in a specific period of time, they will strive hard to get to that place as soon as possible. A rank-and-file employee, for instance, who wants to climb up the top of the corporate ladder in a short amount of time, must work better and harder than his colleagues. This kind of work ethic can only be attained with a proper mindset such as keeping the focus on the goal and perseverance. The second reason is that they have have greater responsibilities than the others. For example, breadwinners have the tendency to perform better in their jobs because they have to earn good amount of money for their family. Being hard working is one of the attitudes that will bring individuals to the place they intend to be. It keeps them ahead of the game and improves their quality of work. However, it may also lead to undesirable outcomes. Too much work can have negative effects to our physical and mental states. For example, some people may feel exhausted after a long day at work or some students may suffer from anxiety due to the pressures from school. People must keep in mind that hard work is good but in moderation. In conclusion, people perform better than other people because they want to achieve their goals or they have bigger roles to assume. Although it is a good quality to possess, it may negatively impact our well-being.