In developing nations, there is an increase in international tourism. Is this more advantageous or disadvantageous?

Visiting global destinations for vacations has become a fashion in the recent times. Tourists are especially opting to visit advancing economies. I perceive that this trend is fruitful to a major extent instead of being detrimental. My stance is elaborated further. Analysing the merits of such a development, the foremost one is the upsurge in the revenue for the host nation. As large numbers of visitors arrive, they spend considerable amount of money on accommodation, travel, leisure activities and shopping which not only increases the foreign exchange for the country but also results in gain for various businesses. For India, a significant amount of GDP growth is due to tourism. Furthermore, the locals get employment. As there are numerous job opportunities in the hospitality sector, being a guide, driver or working in hotels is possible in places where tourists flock. On the other hand, the visitors are able to gain a lot of insights about their place of visit. They get a sense of the local culture in terms of clothes, food, customs and language which puts the place on the world map. However, there are a few drawbacks of such visits that must not be overlooked. To begin with, the environment of the area may face degradation. To exemplify, pollution in air and water may disrupt the local flora and fauna. Moreover, the visitors may indulge in some activities that may offend the natives or hurt their sentiments. To encapsulate, tourism is now quite essential for a nation’s progress. Economical development and global cultural exchange clearly outweigh the negatives of tourism.