In cities, space for housing should be created by knocking down historic buildings. What is your opinion?

From the last few decades, growth in the population has a significant impact on the tracts of accommodation. Most of the countries have observed the shortage of area for their people's residence and to deal with this problem they have been forced to demolish their ancient construction. I am deeply convinced that destroying the significant monuments will bring no good to the nation. To begin with, these monuments should not be brought down because most of these have been built for the remembrance of the symbolic event. Those memorable events have become the key pillar of the nation that who they are today? And demolishing them will be unjust to the hard times and the sacrifices given by the ancestors. For example, the Minar E Pakistan located in Lahore has been constructed in 1960 just to remind the nation about the act which has been passed by the Indian Muslim League in March 1940 which has become the foundation of a separate nation for the Muslim of this sub-continent. On the contrary, to deal with the residential problem of the people due to vast growth in the population could be solved by focusing on high rise structures which can occupy a great amount of population using the small space of land. For instance, the United Arb Emirates has a very smaller tract of land however since 2000 they have constructed the high rise building for their residence which solved their problem of housing. Even though the construction cost is higher, it is far better than destroying the ancient sculpture. To conclude, ancient buildings are the representation of any nation. Bringing them down to deal with the accommodation issue is not fair with the ancestors. However, the government can look into the high rise structure to easily manage the space the constrain of the residential building.