one way to solve the problem of congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on underground. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this solution to solve congestion problem?

Nowadays, congestion is the major issue among the big cities due to ever increasing population. A folk of people suggests to build a sky train instead of underground lines to resolve this matter due to this a question arises whether it is an advantageous solution or having more disadvantages. This essay will provide both and see which one overweighs the other. Many countries believe in vertical development rather than merely depending upon horizontal expansion for resolving the congestion issue. It is advantageous to have solution to deal the congestion, when our engineers are capable enough to build sky-bridge for trains rather than only rely on underground bridges for solving the problem of congestion. A new dimension can be utilized smartly to reduce the traffic up to some extent as it provides new routes to the commuters specifically in their hectic routine. They have options to select the shortest and fastest route according to their requirement. As a consequence, traffic is divided into several routes which will effectively reduce the overall congestion. A survey published in the ‘The Tribune’ has been already proved that sky trains are working successfully in the developed countries such as Japan etcetera. On contrary, constructing sky trains arrangement requires more skills to establish rather than basement set up. Additionally, the vertical construction needs to be withstood with problems such as earthquakes etcetera. It is an expensive solution as we have to take so many factors into consideration before establishing it successfully. Eventually, it will indirectly affect the pocket of the commuters which has adverse effects on other dependent persons. For example, flights have more fares as compared to the trains run on the ground, due to the fact people prefer to travel via trains as compared to planes. In conclusion, it is a good idea to resolve congestion issue by constructing a skytrains while keeping in view of the cost and skillful labor to build it properly.